top of page
Featured Posts

Mosquito FB.VI KA114 in Fabulous Monochrome!

Why? You might be asking. Well, why not? Actually there are real reasons why I chose to make my pictures of KA114 black and white that I took at its unveiling airshow at Ardmore, Auckland a few years ago and they boil down to practicality. Firstly, I had a rubbish camera and the resolution of the images is really poor. Next, it had been raining during the day and I got rain spots on the lens that I couldn't see through the viewfinder - it wasn't an SLR, and these left smudge marks on some of the images - they can clearly be seen on the walkaround page. The weather was quite overcast at certain times of the day and the photos I took were very grey; not much contrast between the weather and the aircraft's camouflage. Lastly, the photos I took weren't really in the vein of a traditional walkaround that examines details of the type, of which I like to take. So, bearing all this in mind, I thought a little less tradition was in order. I'm not much of a wizard with editing software - must put more effort into learning Photoshop - so I thought black and white might do. Of course, KA114 is Jerry Yagen's machine, the first of Glyn Powell's new-build Mosquito fuselages to be finished, thus bringing the airworthy Mosquito population back from extinction since T.III RR299's tragic loss in 1996. For images of the next new build Mossie to be finished, take a look at T.III TV959 for a decent walkaround of the type. So, KA114 in monochrome; click on the image.

de Havilland Mosquito FB.VI KA114

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

WARBIRDS WALKAROUND

bottom of page